First stop in India – Hyderabad

10868087_10152970072923718_2722426120506238166_n

Who are you (female) that weren’t nervous before your first time in India? Well definitely not me…

Like many others, I made sure to have bombarded myself with media horrors about rape cases, crazy people, pollution whatsoever to make sure that I am “prepared” for the Indian madness. Leaving Malaysia – leaving the amazing people I just met, I hate myself for didn’t give KL more time, and there I was flying to Hyderabad… crying like a baby. I don’t know why… maybe just a sudden surge of emotion? I was insanely nervous, scared and lonely…

Pratima and her parents are the first people to host me and also my very first family in India. She is the perfect sister, she pretty stands out as an Indian girl, very smart, beautiful and caring. Knowing that I have limited time in Hyderabad, she tried her best to squeeze all the plans together to make sure I get to see, do, eat as much as possible. Sometimes she cares about me even more than I do. When I was in trouble getting a SIM card, she drove me around for hours trying to sort it out. At the end we came home empty handed, I was down but didn’t want to care much, Pratima was on the other hand very upset, partly because she couldn’t help me, and also disappointed that her country made these little things so complicated for tourists like me. Before my departure, her family gave me a keychain attached a horn as a gift so that whenever I am in danger, I can use it to attract attention. Those are just little things, but mean so much.

The experience with her family really have shifted my first impression on India. Thanks to them I have learnt how it is to care so much for others, for even some who are just strangers. And thanks to them, I began to lure myself away from all these crazy thoughts about India.

I love these people, and I am ready to love India!

10906154_10152970069788718_8723772501843608683_n

———

Có bạn nào con gái lần đầu đến Ấn Độ mà không lo lắng chút nào?? Chắc chắn không phải tôi rồi…

Trước khi tới Ấn Độ, cũng như nhiều người khác, tôi lên mạng tìm hiểu tất tần tật các thông tin về đất nước này, để rồi sợ chết khiếp với hàng loạt tin giất gân như hiếp dâm, giết người này nọ trên phương tiện truyền thông. Rời xa Malaysia và những người bạn tuyệt vời, tôi thấy mình thật ngu ngốc… ước gì đã ở lại đó lâu hơn. Và thế là trên đường bay tới Hyderabad, tôi ngồi khóc tu tu như đứa trẻ (cẩn thận nhỏ tiếng để không ai biết nữa :P). Tôi cũng không biết tại sao mình khóc nữa, có thể tư nhiên cảm xúc dâng trào?? Lúc đó, tôi đã hết sức sợ hãi, buồn và cô đơn…

10931548_10152970072338718_5570378659776637121_n

Pratima và người thân của chị là những người đầu tiên host tôi và cũng là gia đình đầu tiên của tôi ở Ấn Độ. Pratima là người chị tuyệt vời, chị khá nổi bật so với các cô gái Ấn, hết sức dịu dàng và chu đáo. Biết tôi không có nhiều thời gian ở Hyd, chị cố gắng sắp xếp để tôi có thể đi, xem, ăn càng nhiều càng tốt. Nhiều lúc chị quan tâm đến tôi hơn cả tôi quan tâm tới bản thân mình nữa. Khi tôi gặp khó khăn mua Sim, chị đèo tôi đi lòng vòng mấy tiếng đồng hồ, không được việc đành khoanh tay về nhà, tôi thì cũng chán nhưng kệ nó, còn chị thì buồn bực lắm vì không giúp được tôi, buồn vị đất nước chị làm khó dể cho những khách du lịch như tôi. Trước khi đi, gia đình chị tặng cho tôi cái móc khóa gắn cái còi, để có gì nguy hiểm huýt còi thu hút sự chú ý. Những chuyện nhỏ nhặt nhưng lại có ý nghĩa rất lớn với tôi.

Trải nghiệm với gia đình Pratima hoàn toàn đã thay đổi cái nhìn đầu tiên về Ấn Độ. Nhờ họ tôi đã học cách thương yêu người xung quanh, ngay cả đối với những người hoàn toàn xa la. Và nhờ họ, tôi đã dần dần kéo mình ra khỏi cái bong bóng sở hãi viển vông vì những điều “người ta bảo”.

Tôi yêu những con người này, và có thể tôi sẽ yêu Ấn Độ thay?

10923678_10152970071563718_4091422044581569947_n


Leave a comment